Welcome and Introductory Discussion Forum

Hi from Rockland!

Picture of Kristen Ossmann
Hi from Rockland!
by Kristen Ossmann - Friday, July 17, 2020, 4:40 PM

Hi, my name is Kristen and I am happy to be in this course with you all. I am the Horticulture Resource Educator and Master Gardener Volunteer Coordinator for Rockland County. I have been there a little over 2 years, since May 2018. Previously I was in Brooklyn for 16 years where I worked in several fields from art assisting, prop styling, studio production and art education. In 2010 after receiving my masters in Art Education I spent a summer in Maine working on an herb farm and it was there that I knew that there was no turning back from working with plants in some way or another. In pursuit of more knowledge and experience I studied Horticulture from Brooklyn Botanic Gardens and Permaculture from Brooklyn Permaculture Exchange. From there I went on to develop my own floral and small garden design business and became a plant buyer for several garden centers and stores. After many years in the city my partner and I were looking for opportunities outside of the city and when I saw the posting for the position at CCE I knew it would be a great way for me to merge my love of education and horticulture. I have enjoyed getting to work with the Master Gardeners. They are truly a wealth of knowledge and inspiration. We have about 55 active MGVs in Rockland.