Welcome and Introductory Discussion Forum

welcome & introduction

Roxanne Zimmer
welcome & introduction
by Roxanne Zimmer - Tuesday, July 14, 2020, 3:55 PM

Suffolk County has about 230 current, active Master Gardeners. 

Spring Gardening School is the annual event that excites Master Gardeners the most. We start planning in September for the April  Saturday which draws about 250-300 people. We offer 40 different garden speakers in a local school. A Plant Sale and Raffle add to the day's momentum. About 75 Master Gardeners participate each year. As Donna Cooke well knows, the MGs work tirelessly and are appropriately proud of their collaborative efforts.

As a tenured college professor, I taught public speaking. When  I started working in Donna's position  a year ago, I wanted to build the Speaker's Bureau by encouraging more Master Gardeners to be public speakers.  A group of 8 MGs came forward  after I shared one of my programs and guided them on delivery. We were off and running with requests for the Winter Seed Sowing program in January and February, 2020.

The closure of venues mid March temporarily shut down the Speaker's Bureau.  With Cornell zoom available, I relaunched with an emphasis on the importance of growing food.  Between April 1st and today,  82 gardening programs were offered during the day, evenings and weekends, including 30 programs offered in the month of June alone.  It would have been terrific if some Master Gardeners had been ready to present these programs.There simply was no time. I confess that I'm truly exhausted, but  proud of the effort.  County residents with no prior connection to CCE Suffolk now know who we are and what we offer in terms of diagnostic lab services, the horticulture hot line and public outreach.

Picture of Ashley Miller Helmholdt
Re: welcome & introduction
by Ashley Miller Helmholdt - Wednesday, July 15, 2020, 10:01 AM

Hi Roxanne,